Vardar sign 4 new players, 6 leaving the club



Macedonian champion Vardar have signed four new players for the upcoming season, extended contract with five of them and are parting company with six players.

Spaniard Jorge Maqueda, Dejan Manaskov, Alexandar Dereven and Mijajlo Marsenić have signed with new Macedonian champion and club's leaders have decided to extended terms with Stojanče Stoilov, Alem Toskić, Filip Lazarov, Matjaž Brumen and Alex Dujshebaev.

Right back Jorge Maqueda has signed a 3-year contract with Vardar. He will on that position replace Terzić and Petrić whose contracts have expired. Maqueda (age 27, 195 cm) was born in Toledo and has spent last three seasons playing in French Nantes.

Young Russian back Alexander Dereven (23) will wear the red-black jersey for 3 seasons as well. It is interesting that EHF have last season nominated him for the award of the best young player in Europe which says much of his talent. He was also part of the young All Star Team on the last WCh in Qatar. Dereven (198 cm) plays on the left back position and will replace Alexei Rastvortsev whose contract with the club has also expired. Dereven was born in Togliatti back in 1992 and has since 2012 been playing in Chehovskie Medvedi being one of their best players in previous season.

Pivot Mijajlo Marsenic (22) has also signed a 3-year contract with Vardar's leaders seeing him as a perfect replacement for Mikhail Chipurin.

Dejan Manaskov, left wing, will stay also in Vardar for three season. His previous club was Bundesliga's Wetzlar.

By upper mentioned Terzić, Petrić and Chipurin club has also decided to part company with Marković, Pribak and Rastvorcev.


Before the beginning of the next season, Vardar will organize a tournament in their sports hall "Jane Sandanski" from August 24th to August 27th with 5 participants - Swedish champion Kristianstad, Slovenian champion Celje, Russian champion Chekhovskie Medvedi, Saudi Arabian national team, their city rivals Metalurg and of course them as hosts of the tournament.

Teams will be divided in 2 groups. After the group phase, two top positioned teams will play final, second positioned will play for 3rd place and bottom positioned two will fight for 5th place.