Four SEHA countries will play at EHF EURO 2024 in Germany

EHF EURO 204 Qualifiers: Serbia

The Men’s EHF EURO 2024 Qualifiers are officially over. The 24 teams qualified for the upcoming tournament that will take place from 10 January until 28 January in Germany.

Qualifiers for the 16th edition of the tournament have been concluded on Sunday with the last matches of round 6 being played. The list of the qualified countries is following: Germany (hosts), Spain, Sweden, Denmark (top 3 of EHF EURO 2022), Austria, Bosnia Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Faroe Islands, France, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Switzerland
In group 1, North Macedonia won 28:23 against Luxembourg and secured second place in the group. In a tight match, Portugal managed to secure victory against Turkiye (35:37). Therefore, Portugal finished the group first and North Macedonia second. 
In the final round of group 2, two SEHA – Gazprom League participating countries – Serbia and Slovakia, faced off in Serbia. With the previous defeat against Norway (23:33) and the defeat against Serbia (37:26), Slovakia didn’t manage to qualify for the EHF EURO 2024. Norway was the first and Serbia the second in group 2.
Group 3 had no major surprises because Iceland and the Czech Republic confirmed their ticket for Germany.
In group 4, Austria, Romania, and the Faroe Islands book their tickets for the Championship next year.
In group 5, Croatia won over Greece (26:31), and then welcomed Belgium on Sunday in Rijeka. The match ended 34:29. Netherlands finished first, Croatia second and Belgium third in the group. 

Before the last two rounds, Hungary already secured ticket for tournament. During this national team week they lost against Georgia (30:31) and managed to win over Lithuania (31:46). Therefore in group 6, Hungary, Switzerland and Georgia qualified for the torunament.

Slovenia, Montenegro and Bosnia Herzegovina are three teams that booked the ticket for Germany. BiH won over Montenegro (23:25), and Slovenia (27:26). Kosovo lost both matches - against Montenegro (24:26) and Slovenia (33:28).
Finally, France and Poland took the first two points in group 8. France won against Italy (41:27)  while Poland was better than Latvia (31:14) and Italy (29:31).
Also, the final tournament draw will take place on 10 May at 17:45 CEST in Dusseldorf. The 24 teams qualified have been seeded in four pots of six teams based on the results of the EHF EURO 2024 Qualifiers and the ranking of the EHF EURO 2022.
Pot 1: Sweden, Spain, Denmark, France, Norway, Iceland
Pot 2: Germany, Netherlands, Slovenia, HUNGARY, Portugal, Austria
Pot 3: CROATIA, Bosnia Herzegovina, Poland, Czech Republic, SERBIA, NORTH MACEDONIA
Pot 4: Switzerland, Romania, Montenegro, Greece, Georgia, Faroe Islands

Photo credit: kolektiffimages