Facts and Figures: New playing system, but well-known faces at the Final 4!


The ninth edition of the SEHA - Gazprom League is reaching its climax at Zadar, Croatia, from 4 to 6 September, with the Final 4 tournament.

After 76 matches (60 group matches and each eight play-off and quarter-final matches), the four participants of the SEHA - Gazprom League Final 4 2020 have been confirmed - and all of them have a long Final 4 experience: Meshkov Brest, PPD Zagreb, HC Vardar 1961 and Telekom Veszprem. Despite the new playing system, those clubs had already been facing at the Final 4 events in 2015, 2016, and 2017 - which means all former winners contest for the trophy at the end of a very special season.

Even more historic: For the ninth time in nine editions, Vardar 1961 and Zagreb will lock horns at the Final 4.
Before the pinnacle event of the competition is about to start, here are the most important Facts and Figures:

0 of the 76 matches of the 2019/20 season ended with draws, compared to 2 in the previous season. 
0 of the four head coaches had been head coaches at any single SEHA - Gazprom League Final 4 event. David Davis (Vesprem) was Vardar 1961 assistant coach at Final 4 events before, Igor Vori (Zagreb) was team director of the PPD before, Raul Alonso (Brest) was Meshkov assistant coach once and Stevche Alushovski had never been in any function at the Final 4.
1 - for the first time in history, 12 teams were part of the SEHA - Gazprom League in the 2019/20 season, and for the first time, the regular season was split into two groups, followed by play-offs and quarter-finals.
2 matches of the 2019/20 season ended with 70 or more goals, and in both Final 4 participants were involved: Vardar 1961 vs Zaporozhye (44:37) and Beijing vs Brest (26:46).
3 countries had their debuting participation in the SEHA - Gazprom League season 2019/20: Russia, China, and Ukraine.
4 debutants were part of the 2019/20 season: Beijing University, Spartak Moscow, Motor Zaporozhye and Eurofarm Pelister.
4 clubs - Zagreb, Vardar 1961, Tatran Presov, and Nexe - are part of the SEHA - Gazprom League since the start in the 2011/12 season.
7 different cities in five different countries were or will be hosts of the Final 4 events of the SEHA - Gazprom League: Zagreb, Skopje (2), Novi Sad, Veszprem, Varazdin, Brest (2) and now Zadar
8 times before - which means at every edition of a SEHA - Gazprom League Final 4 tournament - Vardar 1961 and Zagreb had locked horns. In 2020, both sides will duel again - in their fifth ever semi-final and their ninth duel in nine years.
29 different clubs had been participating in the SEHA - Gazprom League since their start in the 2011/12 season.
48 times in the 76 matches (group phase, play-offs, quarter-finals), the home teams were victorious, 19 times in Group A, 20 times in Group B, 5 times in the play-offs and 2 times in the quarter-finals
56,2 goals had been scored on average in every match of the 2019/20 season, compared to 53,7 in the previous season.
81 was the highest number of goals in a singular match so far when Vardar 1961 beat Zaporozhye 44:37.
103 goals were scored by Brest’s wing Mikita Vailupau to be top scorer so far.  
4215 goals had been scored in total in the 2019/20 season, 1698 in Group A, 1707 in Group B, 432 in the Play-offs, and 378 in the quarter-finals.