Velux EHFCL draw: four European champions in group A!


European teams, qualified for the Velux EHF Champions League season 2018/19 have found out in which group they will compete in the 1st phase of European elite competition. In total, 28 teams have been divided into four groups with the help of two world class players, women’s EHF Champions League winner Eduarda Amorim and French handball legend Thierry Omeyer, who have both assisted in the draw.

Six SEHA – Gazprom League teams that competed in the seventh SEHA season have earned their right to participate in next season’s edition of the Velux EHF Champions League. Defending SEHA champions Vardar are placed in the group A together with PGE Vive Kielce, Barca Lassa, Meshkov Brest, Telekom Veszprem, Montpellier, IFK Kristianstad and Rhein-Neckar Lowen, among which are four European champions.

Group B will see Paris Saint-Germain play against MOL-Pick Szeged, SG Flensburg-Handewitt, Skjern, PPD Zagreb, Motor Zaporozhye, Celje PL and Nantes. First two groups will feature four clubs who were a part of 7th SEHA – Gazprom League season, followed by two more in group C, Metalurg and Tatran Presov. The Macedonian and Slovakian club will meet Silkeborg, Sporting, Besiktas and Chekhovskie Medvedi in their group.

The last six clubs who have earned their place in the Velux EHF Champions League in the upcoming season, Orlen Wisla Plock, Abanca Ademar Leon, Elverum Handball, Wacker Thun, Dinamo Bucuresti and Riihimaen Cocks are placed in group D.