PPD Zagreb are the Croatian champions for the 27th time!

PPD Zagreb are the Croatian champions for the 27th time!

With another victory over Nexe, PPD Zagreb have concluded this season with the second domestic trophy! Nexe finished second once again.

The final match of the season did not bring many surprises. The reigning Croatian champions won the title in a commanding fashion, by winning 34:27. The Lions were led by Horvatwho scored eight, and Damir Bicanic who added seven. Sasa Barisic-Jaman scored eight for the Nasice team. Once again, PPD Zagreb showed that they are unmatched in domestic competitions, winning their 27th league title, remaining as the only club who have been the winners of the national league. 

The season can be deemed successful for PPD Zagreb, as they finished second in the SEHA – Gazprom League, won both domestic trophies, and were just short of qualifying for the knock-out stage of the EHF Champions League. 

It was a special match for the club, as the fans got to say good bye to many players. The legendary Igor Vori will continue working in the Croatian national team, and the loyal Valcic brothers-  Josip and Tonci will also retire from playing professionally. Likewise, David Miklavcic, Domagoj Pavlovic and Dobrivoje Markovic are leaving the club following the end of the season.

Congratulations to both PPD Zagreb and Nexe on terrific seasons!